MSU Law's Relationship to Michigan State University

Michigan State University College of Law’s mission is to provide a rigorous educational program that prepares a diverse community of students worldwide for leadership in private legal practice, business and industry, government service, and legal education. The Law College was founded in 1891 as the Detroit College of Law (DCL) and affiliated with Michigan State University (MSU) in 1995. Michigan State University College of Law has preserved the historic DCL values of access and opportunity, work ethic, and immersion in the profession, while embracing the opportunities that come from affiliation with MSU.

As a private, non-profit, independent law college, MSU Law is academically integrated into one of the nation’s premier research universities. MSU Law students can access the resources available to other MSU graduate and professional students (dual-degree enrollment options; access to athletic, cultural and recreational programming; on-campus housing; and a global network of Spartan alumni, to mention but a few) while enjoying the benefits of a tight-knit educational community in which faculty and staff alike are dedicated to the success of each student.  

The Law College’s academic policies are aligned with those of the university, and our dean represents the Law College whenever MSU deans gather. Law College faculty serve on university committees, curricular changes move through the university’s academic systems, and MSU Law students are represented in and sometimes lead the university’s Council of Graduate Students.  

The College of Law is led by a Board of Trustees comprised of highly accomplished professionals drawn from the fields of law, business, and higher education. The Board provides strategic direction and counsel for the long-term success of the Law College. The president of the university serves as the president of the Law College, the Provost of MSU serves as Provost of the Law College, and one third of the Law College’s Board of Trustees are appointed by MSU’s Board of Trustees.