Skip to main content, skip to search, or skip to the top of the page.

MSU College of Law

Detroit College of Law at Michigan State University Elects New Officers U.S. Court of Appeals Judge Suhrheinrich Named President


Division of University Relations
403 Olds Hall
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI

Kristin Tetans
(517) 355-2281
Kim Hafley
(517) 432-6959

East Lansing, Michigan. - The Board of Trustees for the Detroit College of Law at Michigan State University has elected the Honorable Richard F. Suhrheinrich as President and Chairman of the Board for the upcoming year. Judge Suhrheinrich currently serves on the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. He was appointed to this position in 1990 by President George Bush. Prior to that he served as a United States District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan after being appointed by President Ronald Reagan in 1984. He graduated from the Detroit College of Law in 1963 and was Senior Class President.

Judge Suhrheinrich who has served on the Board of Trustees for DCL/MSU since 1985 is quick to reflect on the many momentous events the school has observed this year alone, including former President Gerald R. Ford’s participation in the dedication ceremonies, the first endowed chair (The Frank J. Kelley Endowed Chair in Ethics), and the unveiling of a State Bar of Michigan legal milestone award based on the pro bono work of two DCL alumni, to name a few.

Suhrheinrich views these happenings as just the beginning of many more great things to come. "I look forward to working with my colleagues on the Board of Trustees to continue the mission of Detroit College of Law at MSU; providing students a practical legal education that allows them to meet the needs of a complex and fast society. Our new location offers us many new opportunities which we are eager to pursue."

Other trustees elected to office are Peter J. Palmer (Vice President and Assistant General Counsel, Kmart Corporation), Raymond R. Behan (Schram, Behan and Behan), and Clifton Haley (former President, Budget Rent-A-Car) as Vice Chairs; The Honorable Marianne O. Battani (Third Judicial Circuit, Wayne County) as Secretary; David L. Porteous (Porteous & White, P.C.) as Assistant Secretary; David J. Sparrow (Rowin & Sparrow) as Treasurer and Joseph J. Buttigieg III (Executive Vice President, Comerica Bank) as Assistant Treasurer.


Skip to main content, skip to search, or skip to the top of the page.